Light Fell

December 30, 2007

My friend Evan Fallenberg who is on his way to the States for a publicity tour for his new book ‘Light Fell’ (Soho Press) read from his novel last night to an audience of friends, family and students.  I was delighted to be present. 

The phrase nafal nehora is Aramaic for Light Fell and it was used in the Talmud to describe a sudden overwhelming desire.  It is this very desire that Evan writes about in his intriguing and touching story that opens with a married man experiencing nafal nehora, a tremendous sexual longing for his rabbi. 

When I read this book, I was fascinated by this image of nafal nehora, a spark of heavenly light that opens our eyes to who we really are and what we really want.  In my mind, such a moment of enlightenment is a true blessing and one that I have been privileged to experience in my own personal way and use it to change my life around. 

I feel sure that Evan’s book will have a profound effect on many readers, strip blindfolds off weary eyes and allow for buried truths to surface.

I wish him every success.

One Response to “Light Fell”

  1. Angela Jo Brittsan said

    I was able to get your book thru Barnes and Noble where I work, so all those who want to be critical of you as to you wanting to make a buck off this book , be rest assured Reva did not make a penny off of me, I get advanced reader copies being I am an employee.Reva right now I am on page 174, and am busting a gut with laughter. The Lord has a definite sense of humour.
    Sincerely a Roman Catholic who has a Jewish blood line because my Father said we do, but he does not want to talk about it. Who goes to Synagog with Jews who were raised as Jews, who now believe in Jesus as the Messiah.NOW REVA THEY HAVE SOMETHING THEY CAN GET UPSET ABOUT.
    And of course my name is Angela

Leave a Reply

